My Time

 

March 6th, 2017

 

One thing they try to teach you but you really can’t understand it until you’re in the midst of it as a teacher is your spare time. I had a routine in the fall: come home, bow tie off, sweatpants on, pens ready, grade homework, make dinner, watch tv or read, and then sleep. But after grading an exorbitant amount of essays in the last five days, I’ve decided to take the night off! And oh what a lovely feeling it is.

You see, I love that routine because it was productive and filled the quiet, lonely nights with busy work.  But I felt like I never had time to try anything else.  I feel as though my posts for this year’s blog have been a bit slim (I’ve already missed two), but I’m working on finding that groove!

R and I have leftovers anxiously awaiting to be reheated in the microwave while R finishes some work and I slice. Then, we have 3 hours of Veep to binge tonight before bed, and I can’t wait.

I’ve decided to try and keep work at work (especially the grading). Sure, tonight I found the links to different versions of the prologue in Romeo and Juliet, but that was mindless (and fun!). Last week, buried in a pile of work when it was an abnormal 60 degrees outside hurt my soul. So now, today’s quizzes and poetry explications remain at my desk in my school…and I’m ok with that. They’ll get graded, and work will always be there. Time with R won’t.

The added cherry on top of all of this? I’m okay with this. I’m more than okay with this. I’m excited – excited to shut my teacher brain off for the evening and excited to dive back into the myriad of assignments to grade tomorrow morning.

Leave a comment